Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Meraki vs Catalyst 9k

Nancy3
Level 1
Level 1

Hi folks,

I wanted your opinion on Cisco Meraki vs the new Catalyst 9K series.  I am currently looking at options to replace my existing infrastructure.  I’m new to this role and the switches currently are a mixture of netgear, HP and Cisco. I want to standardise and have a robust, scalable, stable, fast network.  We approx 300 users with three cabinets spread across the site and I want an enterprise solution that give us options for the future, features that we may not use currently but have the option at a later date.  I want performance as welll.

cheers all!

9 Replies 9

Hi,

this is bit difficult question :D

selecting switch model or brand to network is too easy. but selecting correct features are the most important. as my knowledge below points you should care when selecting a switches.

1 - number of network devices connecting. depending on number of users, you need to select matching throughput

2 - how you idea to deploy core switches and distribution switches - depends on your buildings, department locations, floors, etc. and are you have future expantions so you can select chassy model switch or fixed switch

3 - how you gonna connect core , distribution and access switches (uplinks)? you can choose fiber or copper. if you are linking building to building at outdoor cabling or high distances better have fiber. and need to think uplink speed (10G, 25G or 40+++)

4 - are you looking for security features through switches such as port security and Access lists

5 - are you planing to use VLANs, if so how many and how many users per each

6 - if you need to do inter VLAN routing are you gonna do it on Core switch or any other device such as router or firewall

7 - are you want redundant connectivity between core switches, distribution and access switches? if so you can have stacked switches

8 - how about power availability in cabinets and how much watt you can supply through UPSs?