Views
Helpful
Replies

Configure default route on SG-300 52-port - L3 mode

manuelbts
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everybody,

I'm a web developer with (outdated) knowledge on cisco networking.

My company recently aquired a brand new cisco sg-300 52-port (SRW2048-K9-NA) and we want to use it as a layer 3 switch to wire-up our small office at MX.

With my little knowledge on networking, I managed to setup the switch to this state:

* Basic security
* Layer 3 mode
* VLAN 1 with network address 10.0.1.0/24 (native)

* VLAN 2 with network address 10.0.2.0/24 (developers)

* VLAN 3 with network address 10.0.3.0/24 (corporate)

* DHCP enabled

* DHCP pools for each VLAN

As you may have notice, I want my IPs to be easily remembered by anybody and to identify VLANs with their last network octet form management proposes.

Everything works very well so far, when I plug my computer to any node it takes the corresponding ip addres for that VLAN, but the issue is that I cannot figure out how to route those clients to internet and my client OS says 'No access to Internet' or 'Limited connection'.

Our ISP gave us 12 public IPs and I want to take one of those and assign it as our default gateway (or route) to internet, I can't find a way to do it (and the sg-300's web interface isn't helpful at all).

Could you please help point me in the right direction on how to define a default static route?

Let's assume that my ISP gave me the IP 187.215.133.160 - 255.255.240.0

Thank you so much!

Manuel.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

as I said already:

You would need the ISP to reconfigure their router.

Without them cooperating, you could try to configure your L3 switch to get an IP address via DHCP from the ISP router. Then you woul dbe able to connect to the Internet from the switch probably. But NOT from the PCs connected behind your switch!

Regards,

Milan

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

milan.kulik
Level 10
Level 10

Hi,