cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Connecting Cisco router to home router to give lab network internet access

askhawkeye
Level 1
Level 1

I am fairly new to networking and am currently setting up a lab with a cisco 2611 router and  a couple switches.  I would like to connect my cisco router to my home router so I can connect my lab network to the internet.  I want to go through my home router so in the case that I do take my lab network down I still have internet access through my home router. 

I am wondering what my interface configuration should be for the port on my cisco router that will connect to my home router, also if this is even plausible?

6 Replies 6

Hello,

you need to connect your 2611 router to your home router and have the interface on the 2611 get an IP address from the home router via DHCP. You than NAT all your internal networks to that interface. The entire thing would look like this:

interface FastEthernet0/0

description Uplink to Home Router

ip address dhcp

ip nat outside

!

interface FastEthernet0/1

description Local LAN

ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0

ip nat inside

!

ip nat inside source list 1 interface FastEthernet0/0 overload

!

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 FastEthernet0/0 dhcp

!

access-list 1 permit 192.168.1.0 0.0.0.255

On a 2611 (especially if the is "old"), you might find the interface command "ip address dhcp" isn't supported. If not, discover what subnet your home router provides to its clients and hard code an IP for that. (You'll also need to change the default route to use the home router's internal IP.)

Depending on what you're doing, you might find PAT doesn't work as well on a 2611 as it does on your home router. If not, if you have a limited number of internal hosts, you might configure to just use NAT (without PAT). I think doing that might only require removal of the "overload" keyword, but I'm unsure. (Georg may know off the top of his head.)