Views
Helpful
Replies

Different Vlan communicate

ciscoreg2
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Guys;

I'm new to cisco device. recent I setup a network, like below. I want compters in vlan 192 network can access servers on 172 network.

How can I do on router and switch?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello

It looks like your router is going to do the routing;

The easiest way would perform "a router on a stick "to utilize one interface on the router and trunk the interconnecting link from the switch to this router

1941 router
interface gig0/1.172
 encapsulation dot1Q 172
 ip address 172.16.1.1 255.255.255.0

interface gig0/1.192
 encapsulation dot1Q 192
 ip address 192.168.188.1 255.255.255.0

On the switch
int x/x
description Link to 1941 router
switchport trunk enapsulation dot1q
switchport mode trunk
no shut

vlan 172,192
exit

int fax/x
description Aceess-port vlan 172
switchport host
switchport access vlan 172
no shut

int fax/x
description Aceess-port vlan 192
switchport host
switchport access vlan 192
no shut

Make sure each pc has an  ip address/subnet mask/default gateway of their relative vlan

res
Paul

Please rate and mark as an accepted solution if you have found any of the information provided useful.
This then could assist others on these forums to find a valuable answer and broadens the community’s global network.

Kind Regards
Paul

View solution in original post

15 Replies 15

akumarka
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

since this two networks are directly connecting to router ,assign the switch ports to proper vlan by switchport access vlan command  in switch and enable routing by ip routing,u can use static routes or routing protocol in router

Do I need setup vlan infornamtion in switch same as router vlan ?