Views
Helpful
Replies

Error with Network Controller: Destination host unreachable

Pepemotate
Level 1
Level 1

Good morning,

I am a student, and I am still learning about packer tracer, and in the attached file I have this problem:

I have added a Network Controller, assigned it an IP and connected it to Switch6. I have also configured the gateway of both computers and servers and the network controller.

But when I do a ping from a computer to the network controller I get the following error: "Destination host unreachable".

I do not know if it is an error of the configuration that I have commented, or by the static route of the router, that is not well connected.

I need the computers, servers and the network controller to be connected, and I can ping between them. But with the network controller, it gives me error.

Could you help me, please?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi

Attached file can ping from "IP-PC" to Controller. Routers must have routes. You can use static routes as this is a pretty simple topology.

So, I added a specific route on Router0 like this:

ip route 10.57.0.0 255.255.0.0 80.90.100.66

Only for network 10.57.0.0, I send to Router2.

On Router2, as it is connected to Router0 only, I added a defaul route like this:

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 80.90.100.65

which means, anything else besides 10.57.0.0, you can send to Router0.

You consigured a wrong network mask on the controller. If router and vlan1 on switch user 10.50.0.0/16, the Controller also must be on the same network.  So, a change the mask for the  Controller.

Do tests and let me know.

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

Hi

Attached file can ping from "IP-PC" to Controller. Routers must have routes. You can use static routes as this is a pretty simple topology.

So, I added a specific route on Router0 like this:

ip route 10.57.0.0 255.255.0.0 80.90.100.66

Only for network 10.57.0.0, I send to Router2.