cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

EtherChannel, Spanning tree

belsbree22
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys, I'm new to the community and networking in general. I am just learning about Etherchannels and STP, but had a question. 

I have set up two Etherchannels from say Switch one to Switch two, and also from Switch one to Switch three. 

They both say they are in use, although when I execute the "show spanning-tree" command, it will show Port-channel 1 (to the root bridge) in a root state, and Port-Channel 2 (Not to the root bridge) in a blocking state. 

That's all good, but my question arises when I see that the "show spanning-tree" command also shows me the physical interfaces that are being used in those port channels. 

For example, PO1 is using F0/23 - 24, and PO2 is using F0/21 - 22, and the command shows 23/24 (to the root bridge) in a forwarding state, but also 21/22  in a forwarding state as well. 21/22 are configured in the PO2, which should, I think be in a blocking state? Should it even show these physical interfaces at all, or did I do something wrong? 

Thanks for any help! 

5 Replies 5

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Not sure until we see your diagram and output : 

take example I have a similar setup triangle connected (one of the branch) each other here s output show for vlan 300

image.png

image.pngimage.pngimage.png

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hello

@belsbree22 wrote:

when I see that the "show spanning-tree" command also shows me the physical interfaces that are being used in those port channels. 

For example, PO1 is using F0/23 - 24, and PO2 is using F0/21 - 22, and the command shows 23/24 (to the root bridge) in a forwarding state, but also 21/22  in a forwarding state as well. 21/22 are configured in the PO2, which should, I think be in a blocking state? Should it even show these physical interfaces at all, or did I do something wrong?