Views
Helpful
Replies

Future IP V6 LAN ?

Didier1966
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am a trainer in AUDIO / VIDEO products , more and more we are in contact with switches an routers to build up some systems.

More and more our dealers are confused with what is going on in the IPV4 to IPV6 migration , they are afraid that the LAN they build today will be useless after the 8 of June 2011 or later.

So far I can read about IPV6 it is more related for the ISP provider , I think they will still give a IPV4 for the LAN ROUTER of the customers.

Will we still use IPV4 in LAN's in 10 years from now ?

I do not see the benefit to have IPV6 in a HOME LAN

Please correct me if I am wrong.

Thank You in advance for your information.

Best Regards,

Didier

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Most routers that have been built in the last  few years should already be ipv6 capable .   If you are talking old boxes like 2500 or 2600 then those might not be compatible.

View solution in original post

In addition to the replies above, I would add that the most likely issues with IPv6 support end to end in a system will not typically be with the switches and routers (assuming they are Cisco or otehr enterprise class gear of, say, a vintage from the past 5 years or less) but rather in any services platforms that may be in the systems and end user devices or appliances. Things such as load balancers, firewalls (though most enterprise level firewalls support IPv6), devices with embedded operating systems, management systems, etc. will give you issues more likely than your network infrastructure.