cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

[Help] Subnetting!!!

thienphongtran
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a newbie in this topic. My duty is separate a network into 30 subnets( without using vlan). My model is below. My needs is:

- Every L2 Switch belong to a constant and sole ip range and when i connect it to any L3 Switch then it still works with original ip.

How can I do that? please!!!

2.PNG

12 Replies 12

marce1000
VIP
VIP

- On a 'local Intranet' and or without a L3 boundary (router); you need Vlan's for subnetting ; 

https://learningnetwork.cisco.com/thread/34441

M.

-- Each morning when I wake up and look into the mirror I always say ' Why am I so brilliant ? '
    When the mirror will then always repond to me with ' The only thing that exceeds your brilliance is your beauty! '

@marce1000 isn't Multiple Switch  a  L3 Device?

- No, multiple switches can be connected to each other, over one network (one vlan) ; if you start subnetting and create Vlan's they will be connected through trunks (which can carry mutiple-vlan-traffic too)

M.

-- Each morning when I wake up and look into the mirror I always say ' Why am I so brilliant ? '
    When the mirror will then always repond to me with ' The only thing that exceeds your brilliance is your beauty! '

@marce1000 But I can assign an IP to a port in Multiple Switch?

- You cannot  assign an IP address to a L2 port.

M.

@marce1000 If its my misunderstanding, in Multiple Switch, we can use "no switchport" command to change a Port to a L3 Port?

- Yes, you can do that , I am not sure what you mean by 'Multiple Switch' ?

M.

@marce1000 my mistake! its Multilayer Switch? So as my original question, Can i do that?

- Yes, 

M.

@marce1000 Then How to do that? I'm very new on this? also this my first duty for job!

Hello

@thienphongtran wrote:

- Every L2 Switch belong to a constant and sole ip range and when i connect it to any L3 Switch then it still works with original ip.

How can I do that? please!!!

2.PNG