Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with Lab Networking config

zkcetam
Level 1
Level 1

Hey All,

I am new to Cisco networking,I am wondering if you could assist me with a couple questions/issues i am having. I will start by uploading a network diagram (please see photo). I am going to explain what i have setup. In this lab, i have an ISP modem(WAN), it then plugs into PFsense(gateway/firewall), which converts it to LAN, from there I have an Ethernet run going to a cisco switch into a port as uplink(Gi2/1/1). Here is where my confusion comes into place. My issues right now are how to route when dealing with multiple VLANS(inter vlan communication, i kind of got this working, but can't communicate to physical gateway IE my pfsense out to the world), and also i suppose i need help on how to configure the uplink port from the start. I just might have mis-configured that which is why I am having issues to start with. So i guess to start would be, what would be the recommended way of configuring an uplink port to the switch from a physical gateway. The next problem i have is, i have configured a trunk port (Gi2/0/48) to allow vlan 1-5 (see screen shot). I can ping all of the vlans i created as i am routing them/gave them an ip. Again the issue arises, I am unable to ping my physical gateway IP, thus unable to real the outside world. I am able to ping the gateway from inside the switch when connected via serial. 

genericNetwork.jpg

pinggateway.png

2 Replies 2

zkcetam
Level 1
Level 1

Adding to this. I have a physical laptop on Gi2/0/4 which is a trunk port to allow VLAN 1-5. I ping vlan 2-5 and get no response, i then go to the physical NIC on the laptop and add the VLAN gateways and BOOM i am able to ping the VLANs in which i specify. I clearly have something misconfigured here.

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Zkcetam,