Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with segregating network

Carlomd
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I'm in need of guidance on how to move fwd with a project on segregating our flat network. I've done labs in the past but never fully got a vlan network running. This is my first time actually having to do this as it's now a requirement for security compliance with a customer. I'm in the process of converting the flat network into segments and have the 4948 doing the routing for the vlans, we bought a new pan500 fw, but the flat network is still on our old ASA5510 and once the network is segmented it'll be setup on the pan500.

So here's my setup right now on what the segmented network will look like (I'm attaching a diagram and configs also)

core sw - 4948 with vlan's 10,20,30 in a trunk, note;the current flat network is still on this sw, vlan1

server switch - sg300, I'm making this vlan 20 to put all my servers in, this also has a trunk that has vlan's 10,20,30 allowed

client w/g sw - 2960g this will be vlan 30, also has vlans 10,20,30 allowed on trunk.

Issue I'm facing, I can't ping a host from the 2960 sw, to vlan 20, but from vlan20 I can ping a host on the 2960, I have the gw and subnets set on both hosts in the vlans, the only vlan host pingable from both the 2960 and sg300 is vlan10, a hyperv server residing on vlan1(4948) that has a vm guest on vlan10.

If anyone can give some helpful pointers, would be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advanced.

5 Replies 5

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Just some comments based on the switch configurations and the diagram.

1) you should not make the native vlan the end user vlan ie. the native vlan should be an unused vlan that does not have a L3 vlan interface for it.

And you may as well standardise on a single native vlan for every trunk since it is not routed anywhere.