cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

High CPU utilization. A real productive environment, please review...

Muhanad.Ali
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there...

I'd like to take a step forward and introduce my problem, looking for a professional support

first of I'm an IT engineer working in a small operator telecommunication company, a few days ago we implemented a new technique of load balancing

between 4 different ISPs, the load balancing part of our network is consist of 4 routers serves as a gateway to each on of the 4 ISPs and a core switch 6506E with sup-720 engine load balancing between the different ISPs with a total bandwidth of 300Mbps to provide an internet services to approximatly 4000 online users daily, during the live network the CPU utilization of the 6506E reached 99%

The network implementation is as simple as this,

The 6506 is running EIGRP protocol with the 4 ISP routers and a floating NAT is implemented based on a route-maps matching the next-hop addresses

And each one of the 4 ISP routers has a default gateway + a tracking object redistributed into EIGRP to let the 6506 load balancing between the redistributed default routes of a different metrics

To make this challange more realistic i've attached the network diagram to this discussion along with the configuration file of the Cat 6506E

Any ideas why the CPU usage is 99%

Appreciation in advance...

"Many words will not fill a bushel..."

6 Replies 6

simon.dwyer
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there,

There is alot of troubleshooting to do. 

Run through this website if you havnt already

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps708/products_tech_note09186a00804916e0.shtml

lgijssel
Level 9
Level 9

I do not quite understand the use of matching ip next-hop in the route maps:

route-map next-FIBER2 permit 10

match ip address USERS

match ip next-hop next-FIBER2