Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to connect an MS450 for the first time

Hello I am new to Meraki and am working on getting my MS450 Aggregation switches online along with my MS425 switches. I have my dashboard running and have added my devices and licensing to the portal. I have also successfully connected 6 MS390's. Those were easy because they have copper ports that connect easily to an upstream switch. Hehe in my case the upstream switch is an HP Aruba switch that will soon be decommissioned but I haven't informed the switch yet so I don't think it is blocking my progress.

Anyway the MS450 and MS425 do not have copper ports. They are all fiber ports and I don't stock any transceivers that are compatible with the Meraki switches. This means I have to connect them in a different manner but am not sure what the best process is. Anyone that can offer a suggestion that does not include a Copper transceiver is appreciated.

I did try connecting a fiber transceiver to the MS425 10G fiber port and then to the Aruba 10G uplink but that resulted in a blocked switch port and took all of the downstream MS390's offline. Any direction or documents that might help send my way please.

8 Replies 8

Philip D'Ath
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

If they are close to each other you could use 10Gbe copper TwinAx cables.

MA-TA-1M (1m cable)

MA-TA-3M (3m cable)

Philip D'Ath
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

You can use 10Gbe fibre transceivers as well.  Make sure you have configured whatever is the core switch to be the spanning-tree root.

If the network is loop-free plugging in extra switches should not take anything offline.  If you have loops try removing those, to begin with.