cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to use switch to boost signal on multiple long cat-5 runs

sbgoodwin
Level 1
Level 1

I felt like this would be some easy scenario, but I'm second guessing myself, and want to ask for advice.

Note that I am a Systems Administrator, NOT a Network Engineer, and while I know my way around networks to a point, when it comes to the more complex stuff with switches and routing, I don't know what the hell I am doing :-)

The scenario:

We have a downstairs office that is more than 100 meters away, so we have four cat-5 lines going to a telco closet that is approximately at the half way point, then another four cat-5 lines going from the closet to the downstairs office.  Both sets of runs end up being under 100 meters.  There is a cheapo SMC non-managed smart switch in that telco closet that joins the runs. All eight ends of the cat-5 runs in the telco closet are plugged into the 8-port switch.  (My predecessor set all this stuff up, so I don't know how right or wrong it is).

we've labelled the 4 cat-5 runs BB1 thu BB4 on either end (BB = backbone).

Currently, we are using only one of these backbones. The other three backbones don't have anything plugged into them on either end, but they are all plugged in to the SMC switch.

Both Voice and Data traffic are on the same subnet, and both go over the same backbone.  The issue we recently ran into is that the downstairs folks are complaining of muddy voice quality.  The first step in troubleshooting this was to buy a Cisco SG300-10 switch to replace the cheapo SMC in that telco closet. This switch is managed... nothing crazy fancy, but enough to help troubleshoot the network traffic.