cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

I need help...

buttonprincess
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm a student in my first year of an IT program at a community college and we are required to design a network layout plan. I'm not quite sure how to go about doing this - we have the layout of the building, and where all the computers are located, but I'm not sure when it's best to use a switch, router, hub...etc. I'm not quite clear on what each one does, and how one would be preferred over another. I was wondering if anyone could help me with what switches, bridges, hubs, etc do, and when it is appropriate to use one.

Extra info that may be needed for you to understand the layout of the building - it has 2 floors, 3 servers, and each floor is 200x300 feet. The min. bandwith is 100Mb.

Thanks for any help in advance!!! It is greatly appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

drumrb0y
Level 1
Level 1

As a still-green 2nd year Network Admin, I can give you my opinion in layman terms:

Your instructor wants you to keep in mind the cabling limits of CAT5, which is about 200' from the nearest device that isn't a hub; if you mount a 10/100 switch in the center of each floor, you should be fine for patch cabling to the hosts.

Devices:

- Hubs are generally going obsolete now, with switches being cheaper; traffic crossing a hub is like talking in a crowded room - all traffic from each connected host is repeated out ALL the other ports.

- Switches are more efficient in that traffic that enters one port exits only one other port, based on an internal hardware destination list in the switch; it examines packets, determines the exit port and sends it on without repeating it to the other ports. It's like turning the crowded room into a room full of doors - only two open at a time for each packet...in & out.