cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Inter-VLAN Routing Config

Chris Mickle
Level 1
Level 1

I just obtained a Catalyst 3750G for my production network and am trying to understand how to configure inter VLAN routing between the two VLANs that exist. None of the examples or explanations I can find online are similar to what I am trying to accomplish, plus I'm very new to cisco and routing and still trying to learn.

I have a /29 public IP block that is configured using a PIX firewall to have each IP address in the public block routed to its own physical interface thereby creating 5 different physical LAN segments each using a different public IP. I have configured two static access VLANs on the 3750G which are connected to two of the physical interfaces on the PIX enabling me to have hosts on both VLANs able to use the same switch, but remain physically separate. My goal is to be able to allow access from VLAN1 to VLAN2 but not the other way around. I have this configured currently via an access list on the PIX, but I would like to use the switch instead if possible to allow for 1Gb connection speeds between the hosts on the two VLANs.

What's really confusing me from reading is that I can not find any examples of inter VLAN routing that have a separate gateway for each VLAN like I do so I'm not sure how to proceed.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The "established" keyword is for TCP only connections.

If this is just for FTP and HTTP then it may well be a solution as these both use TCP.

It should be pointed out that the using the "established" keyword is not truly stateful so it is not as secure as using a firewall but it should achieve what you want.

So basically you deny everything from your FTP/HTTP vlan to your domain vlan but you also allow eatablished connections from your FTP/HTTP vlan to your domain vlan.