cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

LAN for Home

krazykow1
Level 1
Level 1

I am building a new apartment. All interior walls are made of either brick or Cement. I have worked with the electrician to have lan jacks placed in all rooms and will have the central switch in a closet where the cable modem will be as well. The house will be wired with Cat 5e cables. I am completely new to this all and wanted to ask what Cisco components should I install to secure the home network and provide optimum bandwidth to enable:

• parallell streaming of HD content to multiple rooms,
  • transfers of files from PCs / Macs to central media servers and NAS
  • Safe and secure internet surfing
  • child prorection of surfing (limited to some PCs or rooms only)
  • fast wireless access through out the whole apartment (considering the brick walls). apartment is 4bdrm and 2000 sq ft.

In my current rental, I have a wireless router that does not have stong signal 2 rooms away. This box has the firewall built in. So if I get rid of this to have a switch as the first box after the cable modem, I will have a rather unsecure network. Does anyone have a good diagram for home network with security built into to and links to the right cisco appliances?

3 Replies 3

gdeangelis
Level 1
Level 1

Assuming your firewall is adequate and has at least 1 LAN port, turn off the wireless if you don't plan on needing or using it, then purchase a small used Cisco 2950 12 port model on eBay and connect it to your firewall LAN port using a crossover cable. All the ports should be in the default vlan if the config is cleared. This will extend the switch of your firewall /router. This will use the security of your router for the outside and if you want, you can secure access to the switch from the inside network. Dhcp will work fine in this example if you are using it presently.