cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

LAN Setup

okstate_student
Level 1
Level 1

I am a student employee at a research lab and we are trying to set up a local network for file sharing between scientists. Our workstations are connected to a hub then to a cisco 2620 router that is connected to our headquarters by a T1 line.

We do not have any IT support personnel, so we are not sure how to go about setting this up. If anyone could help us find some information we would greatly appreciate it.

6 Replies 6

Hello,

not sure if this is what you are asking, but basically, you need to assign an IP address to the interface where the hub is connected to. This IP address will server as the default gateway for your clients. Let´s say your clients use network 192.168.1.0/24, you could assign IP address 192.168.1.1/24 to the Ethernet interface where the hub is connected to.

Regarding connectivity to your headquarters, is the connectivity already established ? If not, in general a /30 subnet is reserved for that purpose. The serial interface of your 2620 could look like this:

interface Serial0

ip address 192.168.12.1 255.255.255.252

encapsulation ppp

The remote end would have to configure IP address 192.168.12.2.

This will establish basic connectivity between your local clients and headquarters.

Regarding the routing, if there are additional remote networks that your local clients need to connect to, you could use either static routes or a routing protocol such as RIPv2.

HTH,

GP