Views
Helpful
Replies

Migration VSS to C9600 Stackwise best practices

hjacquemin
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone,

I'm actually studying how to migrate our old VSS to a new C9600 Cluster using stackwise. We want to migrate in the smoothest way if possible.

Our network is design as follow:

VSS to Stackwise.png

All the default IP address are on the VSS for each Vlan and all access switches are connected through LACP with a connection on each C6500. What is the best way to interconnect the old VSS and the new Stackwise to progressively migrate the access switch and then move the default ip address from old to new ?

Is there somewhere a best practices guide ?

Regards,

Hervé Jacquemin

3 Replies 3

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
There will be an outage because the downlinks (to the access switches) will need to be switched across to the new pair.

Hi
As Leo stated there will be a hit but i was able to minimize mine doing it like this if it helps , there is no whitepaper on this just on moving from standalone to VSS that i have seen anyway , no VSS to VSS migration doc , I would do this in a shut down scenario its cleaner

To do this live too the FW would need a connection to the 9600 too , so when your migrating traffic doesnt just fall off when its moved to the 9600 side , the path upstream needs to be there too at same time on both clusters

1 create a replication of all layer 2 vlans and SVIs on the 9600 that are on the 6500 cluster keep them in shut down state , make sure its identical both setups

2 Create layer 2 trunk connection between both VSS clusters allow all vlans

3 Take 1 vlan as a test , get a pc on it at access layer ping right up through an past its GW so you know path is ok keep the ping running

4 Shutdown the SVI on the 6500 side and instantly bring it up on the 9600 cluster at same time , ping drop should only be like 1 or 2 if its done right.