Views
Helpful
Replies

Nailing VLSM

turbo_engine26
Level 4
Level 4

Hello,

I am preparing for the CCIE R&S lab and have couple of doubts around VLSM. Subnetting itself is an easy task when you take a major network and divide it into several subnets. But this is currently not my problem. My problem is with VLSM or variable length subnet mask. I understand that VLSM is used to tailor your data links in order to accommodate certain number of host addresses, No doubt in that. However, i can't understand a point in the case study mentioned in the book that i am studying from.

Case Study: Using VLSM

The subnet 172.25.150.0/24 has been assigned to the internet. That subnet has been further subnetted to fit the various data links by expanding the mask to 28 bits (/28). Below are the available sub-subnets:

172.25.150.0/28

172.25.150.16/28

172.25.150.32/28

172.25.150.48/28

172.25.150.64/28

172.25.150.80/28

172.25.150.96/28

172.25.150.112/28

172.25.150.128/28

172.25.150.144/28

172.25.150.160/28

172.25.150.176/28

172.25.150.192/28

172.25.150.208/28

172.25.150.224/28

172.25.150.240/28

Now, we want to assign 60 hosts to one of the data links so the answer will be using /26 mask. Easy! - But which subnet should be used?

According to the book again, four subnets from the above can be combined into a single subnet with /26 mask and they are:

172.25.150.64/28

172.25.150.80/28

172.25.150.96/28

172.25.150.112/28

COMBINED TO:

172.25.150.64/26

My question:

Why specifically the .64 subnet is selected ? Why wasn't the .192 subnet for example selected?

I appreciate your valuable response.

Thanks

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions