Views
Helpful
Replies

Need help using RIP connecting two networks with two routers in Packet Tracer

michaelrjonas
Level 1
Level 1

Hello and thanks for reading if you can,

I am working on an assignment that requires two groups of hosts to be connected across two routers using RIP and not static routing.

The simulation is in packet tracer.

L5hwmap.jpg

I used RIP with all directly connected networks on both routers. At one point, I can ping from the wirelessly connected laptops to the desktop PCs, but not the other way around. I know I could fix this easily with static routing but the assignment is to use RIP only.

Can somebody help explain to me how I would route these two networks using RIP only?

I am a newbie at this working on my CCENT so any help greatly appreciated!

Mike

18 Replies 18

Bilal Nawaz
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Mike,

Since you must use RIP as a requirement, are there RIP routing capabilities on the linksys wireless router?

http://ui.linksys.com/files/WAG200G/1.00.09/help/h_AdvRouting.htm

Maybe go to 'advanced routing' and see if you can enable RIP between the Linksys and R1.

Enabling this on the Linksys would advertise out the 192.168.0.0 network to the other routers if you configure this.

I cant get the advanced routing tab to work on mine for some reason.

Hope this helps.

Please rate useful posts & remember to mark any solved questions as answered. Thank you.

Thanks for the response, Bilal,

I'm not able to get to the advanced routing tab either. I've tried to isolate the problem in a more simple layout

I am able to ping from laptop to desktop. I cannot ping from desktop to laptop however. Is the issue most likely with router 1 or the switch?

Thanks again,

Mike