Views
Helpful
Replies

Need help with Campus LAN building design

mikemelo1369
Level 1
Level 1

Hey everyone,

I'm currently studying in a program at College call Internet Communications Technology. I am working on a final project in my Physical layer class. Basically the final project is to design the telecom closets and network infastructure for a 3 level building.

We never really covered the capabilities of certain cisco hardware so I'm looking for a little guidance in what to select.

Basically we have between 300 - 400 people on each level. So we require 1148 cables. We need an additional 134 PoE connections for our phones and WAP's  I was going to VLAN each floor and then use VLANS on the floors themselves.

On the main floor we will accept the fiber from the main section of the campus for the internet access and branch that out to the other telecom closets in the building using a single mode fiber cable.

I was taking a look at some gear and this is where I am confused. I will require 1 fiber input from the campus and then I need 3 switches on each floor accepting fiber as there are 3 major areas on each floor. So each end of the floor has an auditorium with 170 people and then the middle.

I was looking at using the Cisco Catalyst 2960-48PST-L - switch - 48 ports - managed - rack-mountable for our access layer switches in the telecom closets at the end... But I'm not really sure what to use for our core/distribution gear so I believe I would need 1 router on the main floor which can do all the interVLAN routing via fiber links between floors but then I would require a router on both floors 2 and 3 for the interVLAN routing on each floor. I would then need 3 main distribution switches on each floor. The switches I'm thinking could be smaller port based like a 12 or 24 port based switch as they would really just be there for accepting the fiber link from the main router on the first floor and branching that to the other telecom closets on the floor.