Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

New help with QoS configuration for my Catalyst 9407R

We obtained a new Core Switch and I am having issues configuring QoS. I have never done it before and I am trying to get this new switch configured before my long break comes up. Please help.

6 Replies 6

Mark Malone
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
Hi
Lots of types of QOS but for a LAN switch auto qos is probably the easiest to deploy if your not familiar

by the way i would not rush this QOS should be properly planned not just slotted in , it can have adverse effects if not planned right , you just want to avoid that if possible , most the time auto qos works well but you still need to be careful and it will need to be tested correctly too to make sure its working right , wireshark or TOS pings etc

What exactly are you deploying QOS for , what is your critical traffic that needs to be prioritized

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/lan/catalyst9400/software/release/16-6/configuration_guide/qos/b_166_qos_9400_cg.html

deploying auto qos
https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/lan/catalyst9400/software/release/16-6/configuration_guide/qos/b_166_qos_9400_cg/b_166_qos_9400_cg_chapter_00.html

I would read those docs, but auto qos trust DSCP on the uplinks and access ports would nearly cover you , if its juts general EF traffic for voice and AF for video etc

Thank you for your response. My old core switch had it in place for voice. I tried to copy and paste the original QOS line, some took and some didn't. For the most part, I have the switch configured, it is just the QOS portion that i am confused about. I never had any experience using QOS, so that is why I am posting here to gain some knowledge from the crew.

With Cisco products, QoS tends to vary most on switches as it's tied to hardware (on routers, it's tied more to software).

As Mark notes, QoS done incorrectly can be more harmful than not having QoS at all.