cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

New LAN Design Help

kostatodo
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to Cisco and hoping to implement a large Cisco solution. Unfortunately we're not in the position to hire an expert so I'm seeking some much needed advice!

The general plan for phase 1 would be:

A router with 9 interface cards, that will have a 4Gbps trunk to an Internal Network Switch, 1gbps to DMZ switch, 1gbps to WLAN router, 1gbps to identical router for HSRP, 1gbps to WAN switch, and 100mbps to Internet router

The router will need to participate in OSPF, HSRP and do trunking. It needs to do IPSEC vpn tunnels

The Internal Network Switch would have about 40 Vlans to individual departments. Each department uplink to the Internal Network Switch would be 100mbps. Eventually this switch will be doubled up for redundancy.

There would be about 1000 clients going through it via the Internal Network Switch, and through the Router, using the DMZ servers as well as the Internet.

So I have a few questions regarding this setup:

1/ Which type of router should I use?

2/ Which type of switch should I use?

3/ Is the network schema at all correct or would there be a better way of doing it?

Hoping for some help!

14 Replies 14

mheusinger
Level 10
Level 10

Hi,

you might use a Catalyst 6500 or 4500 or 3750 for all the above. The Layer3 switches will have enough interfaces and Layer2/Layer3 features available to support your requirements.

What I do not understand is: "The Internal Network Switch would have about 40 Vlans to individual departments. Each department uplink to the Internal Network Switch would be 100mbps."

So you are planning for 40 FastEthernet interfaces? It would probably make more sense to use a GE or GE channel trunk for all of them and do shaping/policing if at all required. This would save you a lot of interfaces.

Regards, Martin

Martin, thanks for your reply.