Views
Helpful
Replies

Nexus Default VPC

Pieter de jong
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Netpro,

I'm pretty new to Nexus and have been putting in quoite a large deployment. One thing that happened has made me question if this is the default Nexus behavior. We have 2x7k's, multiple 5K's and loads of 2K's. What I see is the following:

We have 2x5k's running a VPC between them. When they are both powered on, the VPC comes up and everything works fantastic. When I power off any one of them the redundancy works great. My problem is if I power both off and only power one back on, the VPC fails to come back online. This renders the entire 2 x 5K's and FEX's useless.

This doesn't seem correct or to be default behavior. So has anyone come across this? I'm tipping its a config issue perhaps?

Thanks

Pieter

This is the output from the device that is powered on:

vPC domain id                   : 205

Peer status                     : peer link is down            

vPC keep-alive status           : Suspended (Destination IP not reachable)

Configuration consistency status: failed 

Per-vlan consistency status     : success                      

Configuration consistency reason: Consistency Check Not Performed

Type-2 consistency reason       : Consistency Check Not Performed

vPC role                        : none established             

Number of vPCs configured       : 11 

Peer Gateway                    : Disabled

Dual-active excluded VLANs      : -

Graceful Consistency Check      : Disabled (due to peer configuration)

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

eric.long
Level 1
Level 1

Is auto-recovery enabled in your vPC configuration?

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/datacenter/nexus5000/sw/operations/n5k_vpc_ops.html

"Beginning with Cisco NX-OS Release 5.0(2)N2(1), the auto-recovery  feature brings up the vPC links when one peer is down. This feature  performs two operations: