Views
Helpful
Replies

Nexus n9k VPC setup with Active/Active ASA ipsec devices

Ozy
Level 1
Level 1

Hello! 

I'm trying to create a H.A system by using 2x Nexus 9000 C93180YC-FX3 and 2x Cisco ASA5515-X ipsec

Please check the architecture I've designed:

Ozy_0-1688428850536.png

Note: I'm not experienced network engineer. I know Switch but I don't have any experience with ASA ipsec devices. Thats why I have to ask too many different questions. 

My first question is: my architecture solid and correct?

Switch side: 
I have only 1 vlan with x/20 subnet. I want to create a default gateway on switches because I want to be fast and don't need ipsec devices for internal routing. 

Switch configuration: 

1- With VPC setup, How can I create default gateway for a vlan on the VPC domain and route it to Active/Active ipsec devices with loadbalancing? 

2- What is your recommendations and special settings if we need? 

ASA configuration:

1- How I should configure the ASA devices for active/active cluster setup?

2- I have 1 internet uplink for each ipsec. How should I configure these interfaces? 

3- The internet uplinks came from an internal switch, how should I configure these links. With Active/Active stup, we will have 1 outside ip and 2 ipsec devices. I think I need a special setting for this type of usage. Do we need BGP or any other special settings? 

4- For ipsec tunnel, I have 1 destination ipsec server but 2 source ipsec device. How can I configure the tunnel?

9 Replies 9

marce1000
VIP
VIP

- Checkout this presentation : https://community.cisco.com/t5/data-center-and-cloud-knowledge-base/quick-start-guide-asa-cluster-on-nexus/ta-p/3647341?attachment-id=130418

M.

-- Each morning when I wake up and look into the mirror I always say ' Why am I so brilliant ? '
    When the mirror will then always repond to me with ' The only thing that exceeds your brilliance is your beauty! '

Ozy_0-1688428850536.png