cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Packet Tracer Help. What am I Missing. New to Packet Tracer

Malgandalf01
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to PT and taking the online intro course.

One of the designs they are using at the beginning has three computers connected to a WRT300N which connects to the internet via a cable modem the the cloud then to a server.

I cannot for the life of me get the WRT300n to receive an ip address in the internet port so I cannot ping or get DNS from a workstation to the remote server.

. What silly little thing am I missing?

Yes I am currently a complete noob with PT.

TIA - Mike

45 Replies 45

Hello,

I think the Internet DHCP range is just a random range PT uses. What exactly are the instructions ? The weird thing is that the file you sent me does not work (no end to end connectivity), but the one I originally posted (and attached here) seems to work. I cannot really see a difference. Do you have end to end connectivity when you open the attached file ?

Thanks, Georg.

As far as I know the only changes I made to your originally posted setup was to physically move some of the devices around on the canvas and change some names.

I can ping the Cisco server from PC0 in your version, but not the other way round (should I be able to?)

Did you have any other thoughts on my other questions?

Thanks!

This was the exact problem. I went over the instructions 3 times and couldn't for the life of me figure out where i went wrong- when the actual problem was faulty instructions. Aces man, really appreciate the help!!!

Hi @dsunderlin 

Compress the exercise (winzip) with your progress and attach it to review.

Regards

@wmtski666what PT version did you complete this on? I could not achieve it on v7.3.0 but using a DSL-modem with a 'phone' cable to the cloud device worked.I also could not reproduce the results following the instructions on 2.1.1.5.

Hi @CharltonOmondi0495 

Compress the exercise (winzip) with your progress and attach it to review.