Views
Helpful
Replies

Regarding Ether channel

Shahzaib Khan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Friends,

I have some basic knowledge of making switch ports as 1 ethere channel. I just want to know something.

I have 4 cisco 2960 switches to which many users are connected. No vlans are the only default vlan 1 is there. Now I want to make ether channel on switch 1 whcih has 24 fast etherenet ports. Can I make port 1- 8 as one ether channel which are connected to users or i can only make ethere channel

of ports that are connectd to other switchs. If I can, how the other switchs will comnicate with the switch ports bundalled in the ether channel in switch 1. Please help me out.. Thanksss in advance.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello Shahzaib,

You can not make the port connected to normal PC user as ether channel ( Some storage/server supports ) and in your scenario you can only make etherchannel between your switches.

Once the ether channel is made, there will be another interface created called port-channel that will be having same properties like  access/trunk based on your configuration

Since you have to create the channel on both switches, they can identify the etherchannel and communicate each oher

Hope this helps

Haris

Please rate all helpful post!.

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Hello Shahzaib,

You can not make the port connected to normal PC user as ether channel ( Some storage/server supports ) and in your scenario you can only make etherchannel between your switches.

Once the ether channel is made, there will be another interface created called port-channel that will be having same properties like  access/trunk based on your configuration

Since you have to create the channel on both switches, they can identify the etherchannel and communicate each oher

Hope this helps

Haris

Please rate all helpful post!.

Sandeep Choudhary
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

HI Shahzaib,