Views
Helpful
Replies

Replacing a faulty switch from a stack with a brand new blank one

DGFtw
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to Cisco switches - but somewhat familiar with Alcatel switches.

We have a 2 switch stack of identical C2960X switches. One of the switches died and was sent away under warranty, we have been given a new, but completely blank replacement.

I understand I will first need to ensure the firmware is matched on the two switches.

My question is, how do I set the second one up to match the current master switch? I have a backup of the running config of the master switch, but I don't think I should put this straight onto the new switch, it would have a different IP for a start. I (think i) understand that once connected, the second switch should be replicating from the first one. So, how far do I go with setting the blank one up before I just plug it in and let it replicate?

I am expecting to at-least go through the initial setup.

Also, should I name it, and give it the same IP address of the old switch that was removed?

Thank-you in anticipation,

DG

15 Replies 15

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

If you have failed switch in the stack - another switch might have become master and have all the configuration.

show version gives you what is the version running in the exiting version. (make sure you have a backup running-config out of of the box )

1. New RMA switch connect console and upgrade software version matches as other one live

2. renumber the switch and priority and write the configuration.

3. turn off the device

4. connect the stack cable with an exiting live device  - do it in a maintenance window.

5. Turn on and check the logs connecting the console cable to master switch.

Once the device boot, it automatically joins the stack group

Standard document for reference adding switch or replace the switch in the stack :