Views
Helpful
Replies

Setting port for Voice + Data

Dennis_Thornton
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I have a 3850 stack (core & access - server or user) and a couple 3750 switches ("user" access) I'm setting up to support a VOIP install.  The 3750s are trunked to the 3850 stack.  All are at current recommended or greater IOS.

Currently I'm trying to determine if the settings I plan on using for ports is correct.  I still have routing to button down but I need the ports proper first.  I'm a IOS/Cisco newb so please be patient.

Pertinent info:

There are 3 VLANs, VLAN1 - management, VLAN2 - Data, and VLAN10 - voice.  VLAN10 will be marked as the voice VLAN on the switch.

The "user" access devices I will connect to a port are either a PC, a Yealink phone, or a Yealink phone+PC.  PC traffic arrives untagged.  Yealinks will send a untagged DHCP request, receive a DHCP data, reissue a DHCP request with a VLAN10 tag, and all future communication will be vlan10 tagged.

Here's what I have put together so far for the "user" access ports.  Command is for one port (I'll use interface range when I actually do this):

config t
: #--clear all settings on port
default interface G1/0/1
: #-- enter interface setup
interface G1/0/1
description VoiceData
: #-- set port to trunk mode
switchport mode trunk
: #-- set port to 802.1q which allows tagged traffic (phone)
switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
: #--we only allow tagged 10, all else is untagged & switch tagged to vlan 2.
switchport trunk allow vlan 10
switchport trunk native vlan 2
: #--speed port init with portfast
spanning-tree portfast
end

Am I on the right track?  Other commands I should include?  Will the switch prioritize the VLAN 10 traffic automatically since I have VLAN10 set as voice or do I need to issue a switchport voice vlan 10 command for the port?

TIA

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Charles Hill
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Dennis,