cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

SR520-FE-K9 initial setup blocks HTTP

ssjindy12345
Level 1
Level 1

OK, I'm no expert at this.  I used to run a PIX firewall years ago and never had any trouble with NAT.

I have a fresh SR520 that I only did two things to it using CCA 3.2(1):

1.  Assign the address of FA4 to be 1.23.456.90 with a mask of 255.255.255.252

2. Declared a static nat of 1.23.456.90 port 80 to 192.168.75.12 port 80

I connected laptops to two ports:

1. FA0 (DHCP assigned laptop the address 192.168.75.12)

2. FA4 with the address on the laptop set to 1.23.456.90 and mask of 255.255.255.252

This is an exercise to simulate a cable internet configuration I will install the SR520 into.

I can ping and point my browser to 1.23.456.89 and access the web server running there on port 80 via the inside laptop

I CANNOT point my browser to 1.23.456.90 from the outside laptop and make a connection. 

Attached is the running configuration.

Can someone explain what I am doing wrong with NAT?  (I believe the problem lies therein as I did even try telling CCA to delete the firewall and I still could not connect to the inside web server).

I have a network monitor (Wireshark) on the inside and see nothing coming across.  I THINK I see successful NAT translations in the NAT logging (also in the attachment).

thanks for any and all insight!

2 Replies 2

ssjindy12345
Level 1
Level 1

BTW, the real IP address is obscured as you can probably tell, but the last octet is real:  .90 is my assigned IP and my next hop to their router is .89

I continue to experiment both with and without using the Configuration Assistant.  CCA seems to not like the firewall as defined by the SR520 in its default configuration.

Is it valid to connect laptops with the appropriate IP addresses to act as my ISP on the FastEthernet4 interface and one of the 4 VLAN75 switchports?