Views
Helpful
Replies

Switch is working but will not ping?

Augusta1966
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to all this so please go easy!

I have a 2940 switch which had the wrong VLAN on it (the equipment we had running through it hadn't been used for a while & no one noticed it wasn't working until now).

I found the switch port was still set to an old VLAN, changed this and made sure it had the correct default gateway. Once all the changes had been saved, the switch & pc ip addresses were now able to be pinged. However, back in the office (15mins later) pings have stopped to the switch but not to the pc (which is working!) the switch ports are initialized.

Have you any advice on how I can get the switch to ping again as normal? Or what I could check to see why this has happened.

Many thanks

14 Replies 14

Antonio Knox
Level 7
Level 7

If you have a ping check running to this switch, make sure that the SVI (interface Vlan###) configuration is still good.  If by 'had the wrong VLAN on it ' you mean the Vlan interface ip address was bad, you will need to update the ip address for the pings that are going to the switch.

Rate this post if it helps.

Hi Antonio,

The 'wrong vlan' was on a particular port of the switch. What I find odd is that a pc in that office which is plugged into the switch I can now ping but the actual switch itself I cannot. Any other pointers would be great.

Thanks

Conor

Hi,

Could you make a quick sketch of your network indicating the working ping as well as the failing one

Then also post your sanitized config  from 2940

Regards.

Alain.

Don't forget to rate helpful posts.