cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

The Concept of Switching Frames in Cisco swicthes & Switch Hardware components ?

manuelricardo
Level 1
Level 1

Hi folks ,

I would like to know 2 things :

1. can you please explain and easy words the overall concept behing switching logic ? by that i mean how are actually the frames from switches forwarded or learned from one switch to another , as it ingress in one port and egress on another port that is on the same VLAN or on separate or different VLAN ? in shot just explain me how frames are switched in Cisco environment ?

2. What are the different harware components of a Cisco switch , what is made of , for example on PC we have CPU, Disk drives, serial Bus, etc , what about on Cisco switch what do we have and who is responsible for what please explain , and please also enlighten me what the most important logical or physical components of a switch , as a good engineer I need to know my switching gear in and out ..

Looking forward to your answers ..

Regards ,
Manuel 

5 Replies 5

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer

The Author of this posting offers the information contained within this posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding that there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any purpose. Information provided is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind. Usage of this posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer

In no event shall Author be liable for any damages wha2tsoever (including, without limitation, damages for loss of use, data or profit) arising out of the use or inability to use the posting's information even if Author has been advised of the possibility of such damage.

Posting