Views
Helpful
Replies

The purpose of regions in MSTP

Mitrixsen
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, everyone.

I am studying MSTP and I was configuring regions. I would therefore like to verify whether my understanding of them is correct since I wasn't quite sure what was the point of them at first, but now I believe I understand.

When it comes to MSTP, a region is just a group of switches that share the same MSTP configuration, correct? It is defined by several parameters. I’ll mention one which are the instances and the VLANs mapped to them.

The moment we have different MSTP configuration, more regions end up being created. So if I have 10 switches and I define the following instances:

SW1-5
MSTI1 - VLANs 1-500
MSTI2 - VLANs 501-1000

SW6-10
MSTI1 - VLANs 1-20
MSTI2 - VLANs 21-30

This will create two regions, with each region having 5 switches that share the same configuration.

Now, to confirm, if these switches were in the same region, this could cause problems and complexity, right? I suppose it would be problematic if each instance was configured differently (had a different root bridge, port costs, etc) and then each switch would have to go ahead and compare those overlapping VLANs in the instances and apply the relevant configuration only to some of them, and not to mention that it would be inconsistent and harder to configure/maintain, and so on…

So is it right to say that to preserve clarity, configuration consistency, and ensure a loop-free topology, the switches are grouped into regions and potentially separated into multiple of them if their configuration differs?

David

3 Replies 3

Martin L
VIP
VIP