cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Traffic Shaping on Switch - Is it supported and on which models?

thomasjkuhn
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

I will start off by saying that I am not a Cisco expert my any means, but I have asked a few Cisco engineers that I work with and have received conflicting information as to whether a Cisco switch such as a 3560 or 3750 is capable of handling the following situation:

I have seen similar questions and responses but this requires much slower speeds.  We are working on developing a system that would require some form of traffic shaping and port routing.  While some have mentioned just using a Linux box to perform all of these tasks,  I think that the capabilities are inherent (Based on everything I have read so far) in the higher end Cisco Switches. 

We need to interface to a Radio. This radio has an IP interface into which we can pass IP packets with a data payload. Unfortunately the radio has a very small buffer in which to handle any surges in incoming data. We would like to use a Cisco Switch to handle this situation.  The switch would receive the data from another port, route it to the proper destination port (static - preconfigured by operator). The radio will get the payload and assemble into a serial data stream and transmit out of the RF port.  Depending on the rate that the radio is set to transmit (2400bps – 56Kbps Fixed by the operator and not variable), the switch would have to shape/buffer the IP traffic going to the radio in the case that the data coming into the switch is coming in faster than the RF can transmit.  Attached is a diagram showing two use cases and please note that all devices are on the same subnet: