cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Two 3750's Redundancy - Do I need to Stack?

JonB93
Level 1
Level 1

I'm looking to create some redundancy with our server switches (3750x).   We only had one initially but the PSU failed, which took down our servers, so we ordered another one and I'm looking to have some redundancy in case it happens again.

Do I need to stack them? I've never done this before.  I know it treats both as one logical switch, but I wanna make sure I connect everything right.  This is a drawing I made up of how I think it will be done. Although I think my server has 4 nics, so maybe I would just do 2 to one switch and 2 to the other right?  Any other advice or things I'm doing wrong?

switch.jpg

15 Replies 15

Hi

You are right.  The only advise I have is for port-channel use interface from both switches. This way if the first one fail, the second one keep connected.

https://community.cisco.com/t5/networking-knowledge-base/how-to-configure-cross-stack-etherchannel-on-cisco-catalyst-3750/ta-p/3128099

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

yes stacking will give high availability

high level - make sure switch models are same and compatable, version of code should be same, when you stack, you need to relaod to take effect stack config.

stacking option you can read below document :

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/switches/catalyst-3750-series-switches/71925-cat3750-create-switch-stks.html

Core connection - make sure you split the connect in to two switches, if switch 1 fails, switch 2 can still serve the purpose.

Server connection - also same split to Switch 1 and Switch 2, make Port-channel for high redundancy.

Good to even Connection to load balance equivally suggested.

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help