Views
Helpful
Replies

Using DNS to resolve switch hostnames for NTP

TSJoe
Level 1
Level 1

Hey all, 

I'm pretty new to all of this, I just passed the CCNA in June, and have been working as a jr. Net Eng/Admin of my company for about 8 months now.

I was asked to configure our core switches at our main office as NTP for the rest of our network.  We use CATO as an SD-WAN to connect sites, and our sites are located all across the USA.  The end goal is to have our New Jersey office, and our Nevada office to support NTP for the rest of the network.  The rest of the network is pretty basic from what it looks like, 15+ small sites each with 1 maybe 2 switches, a WLC, a couple AP's all connected via CATO.  There is not a single router in my network, we rely on L3 switching for anything needing to be routed inside the site, and CATO to route to another site, or to the internet.  I have the core here in NJ configured already, and the two access switches in NJ are set to look to the core for the time.  I am using the cores management IP as the pointer the access switches use to get the time from the core. 

My concern is if that IP ever goes away (upgrades, catastrophic events, etc.) or it needs to be changed in the future for whatever reason I will have to go back and re-configure the rest of my network to point to the new IP for NTP.  So I want to use the core switches hostname as the pointer instead of the management IP.  Is it possible to use my current DC which has DNS configured on it to be able to resolve the switch hostname to use that instead of the IP I have configured already?  I've been trying to follow how to make the switch I have the DNS, but I think I'm missing something.