Views
Helpful
Replies

VPC link and keep-alive setup

Ozy
Level 1
Level 1

Hello. 

I have 2 Nexus n9k and this is gonna be my first VPC setup. 

I have 4 x 25Gbit links between the two switch because this switches gonna serve for storage devices, I need speed and low latency. I did not use 100G uplinks because I need them for different switch connections. Thats why I used 4x25Gbit but I want to be sure is it logical or not. 

As I read, I need a link (or two link for redundancy) for VPC keep-alive but I did not understand why we need seperate link for keep-alive.

I'm not experienced network engineer but as a developer and system engineer I believe we should be able to use these links as peer-link and also keep-alive link. We just need two different layer. 

1- Layer 2: vpc peer-link on 4x interface 

2- Layer 3: vpc keep-alive link on 4x interface with port-channel

My question: Is there any way to use the 4 x 25Gibt VPC links also as keep-alive?

With this setup, we will be able to use all of the interface for peer and keep-alive so it is more logical and safe. I don't know but the keep-alive network package must be only a tcp package nothing more and the communication speed is 1 sec or similar I suppose. So I really do not understand why we have to use seperate keep-alive link. what is the logic behind this???

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

vPC Failure Scenarios - Impact and Solution - Cisco vPC Guide (letsconfig.com) 
this two behave of vPC I mention before.
NOW since you separate keep-alive than Peer-link 
that great 
NOW 

The questions I have now: 
1- I think the internal default gateway should be on the VPC or VRF for acting as one.
 2- Do I need any special load-balance features because the best and fastest way is balancing via gateway. But I'm gonna use these for storage devices so if the decision algorithm will cause extra latency, it will be bad for me. I have to learn and find some parameters to get minimum latency possible.