cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Announcements

114
Views
0
Helpful
2
Replies
Highlighted
Beginner

Will vlan.dat auto save ?

Hi all, IF my current vlans deleted because of the new switch with higher configuration revision number , can I get the old vlans by restarting switch before save the configuration ? or is the vlan.dat file auto save while receiving the new vlan information from the vtp server ?
Everyone's tags (1)
2 REPLIES 2
Hall of Fame Guru

A switch doesn't keep

A switch doesn't keep archived (older) versions of vlan.dat - either in volatile (RAM) or non-volatile (flash) memory on its own accord.

If you had a backed up copy offline, that could be used. Otherwise you are stuck with recreating the VLANs manually.

Hall of Fame Community Legend

If it was overwritten then it

If it was overwritten then it's gone. 

 

If you want a particular switch to operate with an exclusive set of VLAN tables, then configure this as transparent.  

CreatePlease to create content
Content for Community-Ad
July's Community Spotlight Awards