cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

UCM version upgrade and failover

yantiscompany
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to the company, and I currently have a Cisco MCS 7828-H3 running UCM 6.1.1 with Unity connection 2.1.1.  We had a psu go faulty on the MCS which killed the phone systems for a day, and had everyone going crazy.  I figure best bet is just to buy a backup MCS off of ebay, and run it in some kind of failover config.  I was also looking to upgrade to some of the newer versions.  Looking at the version compatibility chart, 6.1.1 isn't even shown as compatible with my server, so I'm not sure how that worked out. The newest 8.6 is indeed compatible, but I was wondering how licensing works on this device?  Does smartnet cover the upgrade for going from 6.1 to 8.6?  Also, I see two machines on ebay (one of which looks beefier), but the compatibility chart doesn't show them as being compatible.  Will I still be able to upgrade them to the same versions?  How does failover work with this system.  I really don't want to have to bother with getting any new licensing for the backup server since it will just be there in the case of an emergency (1 day every couple of years).

3 Replies 3

Jaime Valencia
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

If a model does not show up try looking here:

Cisco 7800 Series Media Convergence Servers

Solution Overviews

If it's not the same HW most likely you won't be able to install it and won't be supported if you manage to install it but the specs do not match what is on the link.