cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

UCS Platform Emulator Setup

amercer00
Level 5
Level 5

Hello.  I'm new to the UCS Platform and have decided to install the UCS Platform Emulator to help me get started.  I just have a couple of questions about how to set it up.

1) The OVA file installed a VM with 3 virtual NICs.  I gave them all IP addresses (10.0.0.1-3).  I was just wondering why there are 3 of them?

2) I know that the blades don't support actually installing operating systems, so what is the KVM connection for?  Is it just to watch the blade being configured?

3) I can configure the ports on the Fabric Interconnects for Uplink or Storage, but is there an emulated upstream switch or storage array to actually connect to for testing, or no?

Thanks to anyone who can help me out.  I can't wait to get started with the UCS Platform Emulator.  We will be configuring our Dev UCS soon and I wanted to start with the emulator first.

Allen

1 Reply 1

ericwill
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

1) The OVA file installed a VM with 3 virtual NICs.  I gave them all IP addresses (10.0.0.1-3).  I was just wondering why there are 3 of them?

There are three because one NIC emulates the Virtual IP in UCS Manager, and the other two NICs emulate the interfaces for the fabric interconnects (A and B sides)

2) I know that the blades don't support actually installing operating systems, so what is the KVM connection for?  Is it just to watch the blade being configured?