Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA - Use of Console and Aux Port.

Stephen Carter
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I have a situation whereby I need to 'Manage' a switch, there is no remote access to this switch, due to a config issue.

But I do have access to a ASA, which has an AUX port on it (think this is standard), and we have, in other situations (not an ASA), an AUX to Console connection, allowing us to connect to the remove switch via the router etc.

Issue I am finding is that there seems no way of configuring the AUX port, as in there is no 'Line' under conf t.

Does anyone have any ideas as to how to config an AUX port on an ASA.

Any help will be gratefully recieved.

Thanks in advance,

Stephen

7 Replies 7

Azubuike Obiora
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Steve,

First of this is my very first time of hearing about an AUX port on ASA, what I know of is a management port. Please what model of ASA is that? I'm not trying to be sacastic I just would like to know.

Secondly bad enough that one can't do telnet or ssh via ASA to get to a switch enable for such services....ASA don't act like routers or switch do....where you could telnet from it into another device. There just 3ways you could go about it or I should say I would go about it.

First 2 are Cisco and 3rd one for lack of a better word I'll say industry standard.

Either you configure a Remote vpn to your ASA then you can reach the switch you desire or configure anyconnect vpn with the ability to add plugins I think you can add a plugins for ssh or plugins for rdp to a system that in turn would get back to the switch you want to manage. Even VNC too!

Thirdly you can use Teamviewer installed in a machine and remotely connect to the machine and get to the switch. I hope these helps you out. I also want to say there are tons of way this could be done but these are they three I'll use other might suggest to you.

Cheers

Teddy

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame