cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cannot access remote resources - Cisco VPN Client

Chris Johnson
Level 1
Level 1

I am having an issue with my Cisco VPN Client. I am new to VPN setup, so this is probably something easy I am missing. I have a 2611XM router acting as my internet gateway for my local lan, and my VPN Server. I am doing all my testing from a company laptop with a mobile broadband card. The VPN will connect, but anytime I ping anything within the inside network, it comes back with the public IP of the outside interface. I have NAT overload configured so everything on the inside network can access the internet, which it looks like might be causing my problem. I just do not know how to fix it. My running config is attatched. Does anyone know what could be going on.

Oh, almost forgot to add. When i remove the nat overload on my fa0/1 interface, the vpn will connect to any resource on the inside.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Your nat configuration seems to be causing the issue. If your are using an ACL to match the source for the NAT then it will ne necessary to add as line 1 a deny for the ip local pool of your vpn clients to any. try that to see how it goes.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

View solution in original post

Hi Chris,

No no. It should be like below.

ip access-list extended Public_ACL

10 deny ip any 10.10.10.0 0.0.0.255

20 permit ip 192.168.1.0 0.0.0.255 any

30 permit ip 192.168.2.0 0.0.0.255 any

40 permit ip 192.168.3.0 0.0.0.255 any

ip nat inside source list Public_ACL interface FastEthernet0/1 overload

Please rate if this helps

Thanks,

kasi

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

Your nat configuration seems to be causing the issue. If your are using an ACL to match the source for the NAT then it will ne necessary to add as line 1 a deny for the ip local pool of your vpn clients to any. try that to see how it goes.

Kasiraman S
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Chris,