cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

FTD SCEP Enrollment Error - Identity Certificate

Steven Case
Level 1
Level 1

Alright, so I'm not an expert on PKIs, but this particular problem is perplexing me to the point of posting. Hoping someone has seen this one.

I have a deployment of FMC managing a few FTDs. Looking to terminate our RA VPN on these devices. Part of this whole thing is getting a certificate on the device, as is typical, and I'm hitting road blocks all over the place on this. Did manual. That was acting so weird I decided to do SCEP. This is also acting weird, but is now my preferred method of enrollment for this deployment.

Set it up with the following configurations (I can't post pictures):

Enrollment Type:            SCEP

Enrollment URL:             http://10.1.1.3/certsrv/mscep/mscep.dll

Challenge Password:      Obtained from the mscep_admin, using the same http:// format as above

Include FQDN:                Use device hostname (tried this without as well, no change)

Include Device IP:            No

CN:                                  vpn1.my.domain

OU, O, L, ST, C, E:            All set

Include Serial Number:     No

Key:                                 RSA:2048

Ignore IPSec Key Usage:  No, because I have the IPSec on the template referenced

Revocation Check:           None

As far as SCEP, I'm using MSCEP on a Server 2019 Sub CA. I have modified the template key in the registry to use my custom template, however it doesn't work when setting back to IPSec Offline either. I have confirmed that the certificate is in the issuance state. I have used this exact same configuration (other than the CN changing) on all of our network appliances for DOT1X EAP TLS authentication identity certificates. So... I know it works.