Views
Helpful
Replies

Telnet and SSH configuration for remote access

francisgamo08
Level 1
Level 1

Hello CISCO masters,

I am a CCNA student and I would like to know the SSH configuration in advance.

I have a CISCO 1841 router with ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 12.4(13r)T, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)

, I'm trying to issue a command crypto key generate rsa general modulos 1024 but it keeps on saying that this command is unrecognized. - Does it mean that this router is not capable for that service?

what should i do to make ssh work on that flatform?

thanks and regards,

Francis

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Sandeep Choudhary
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Francis,

You will need an image that supports SSH (images with k9)

Yes. Starting with Cisco IOS Software Release 12.4(1), SSH is supported in all images with the following exceptions: IP Base without Crypto and Enterprise Base without Crypto.

Use this command: Router(config)#crypto key generate rsa

and you ll find out.

Configure the remote incoming vty terminal lines to accept Telnet and SSH.

Router(config)#line vty 0 4

Router(config-line)#privilege level 15

Router(config-line)#login local

Router(config-line)#transport input telnet ssh

Router(config-line)#exit

CustomerRouter(config)#crypto key generate rsa

How many bits in the modulus [512] 768

CustomerRouter(config)#exit

Verify that SSH is enabled and the version being used.

CustomerRouter#show ip ssh

Regards

Please rate if it helps.

View solution in original post

nkarthikeyan
Level 7
Level 7

Apart from those commands as sandeep stated here... you need to set ip domain-name as well for generating the key. Because you key will get generated based on your hostname... i.e. .

Please do rate if the given information helps.

By

Karthik

Hi Francis,