Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Web Security Appliance Licensing for High Availability

edwardwaithaka
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I would like to deploy Cisco S170 Web Security Applicance in HA mode.

My question is; What license are avaiable to ensure two appliances work in HA mode?

We have purchased the following licenses and not sure if HA will work;

2 x WSA-S170-K9 WSA S170 Web Security Appliance with Software

250 x WSA-WSP-5Y-S2 Web Premium SW Bundle (WREP+WUC+AMAL) 5YR, 200-499 Users

There are 250 users in our network.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

I'm not an expert on the licensing end, but as far as I know, there isn't a seperate license for HA of the WSA.  From a technical standpoint,  HA for the WSA is handled by how you get the traffic to the boxes.   The WSA's don't know about one another, they don't get "clustered" like the ESA's... 

View solution in original post

15 Replies 15

I'm not an expert on the licensing end, but as far as I know, there isn't a seperate license for HA of the WSA.  From a technical standpoint,  HA for the WSA is handled by how you get the traffic to the boxes.   The WSA's don't know about one another, they don't get "clustered" like the ESA's... 

We've used an ACE or some other type of load balancer for HA.

Correct, licensing is per WSA, with no additional licensing needed for HA as provided by WCCP clustering.
Bookmark it, we can blow it up later.

Kush Srivastava
Level 1
Level 1

HI,

WSA does not have the Clustering Capability. You can however load balance the traffic via WCCP (transparent proxy Deployment) or via PAC files (Explicit Proxy Mode).

Regards,

Kush

amatahen
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

I have been going through Support community questions and I noticed your question, we have a setup were HA is achieved by using PAC file which is pushed to users.

HTH

VeNoMouSNZ
Level 1
Level 1