cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How can I improve the audio quality in my calls with WebEx Meeting software?

I posted this message, then received an email alert about it, and then it seemed to disappear from the discussion board. I will try again!

I have an important digital presentation/interview session coming up, for which I have to use WebEx (which I was not familiar with before, but my company has a license and I downloaded the desktop app).

I use a good microphone (Rode NT-USB) which produces excellent recordings and works well with zoom and MS teams. When I tested the audio quality in WebEx, the sound was not good. I am no expert, so I cannot describe the exact issue, but it sounds as if my voice is higher and flatter, and there seems to be noise in the recording. I double checked the microphone input, yes, it was the correct external microphone.

Is there anything I can do about this to enhance the quality of the recording? The 'music' setting does not help. My computer is relatively slow and does not have a lot of free CPU when running WebEx, can this be a reason for the issues? But then again, I do not have these problems with other software.

Really hoping for some advice here!

7 Replies 7

Hi @LookingForAdvice,

do you use the web app or the Mettings app? I had the same problem an figured out that Webex Smart Audio disturb the microphones signal under certain circumstances, e.g. if you use Webex with more than one person. See https://community.cisco.com/t5/webex-meetings-and-webex-app/disable-microphone-filtering-in-webex-meetings-app/m-p/4486280

msabarajan
Level 1
Level 1

I  too have the same problem, my USB external mic works very good in the studio setup ( OBS Youtube recording), however when it connect it to cisco meeting, there are lot of audio quality issues happening...