cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

AP1200 with other Vendor Wireless cards

admin_2
Level 3
Level 3

I have taken over a network with 20 Aironet 1200 Access Point, which I believe they were upgraded via a module to support B/G wireless along with A support. I have no wireless experience. Our old laptops have Cisco wireless A cards which works perfectly at 54Mbps. We have just bought several new HP laptops with built in wireless B. At close range like 2 metres connection is fairly OK but really dodgy. Move further away from the AP the laptop loses connection. I have noticed this with other Vendors Wireless B/G cards - same issue. I have turned off Aironet Extension with extensive research and still not having any luck. Wireless A has a different SSID than B/G. I have max out all power on both the AP and laptops with B/G cards. I have disabled A and tried using B/G only - no chance. I have also updated the AP with the latest IOS. Please someone help me, I have just taken over this network and its nothing but a complete mess. One other thing I have noticed that the wireless network is OPEN..

7 Replies 7

Not applicable

I am running into the same problem. I recently purchased 3 1200 series AP's along w/the cisco aironet a/b/g wireless adapter cards. With the Cisco cards the connection is great @ 54mbps. The problem is when I try to use a non Cisco card which is a "b" card. We are in the hospitality industry and the wireless will be used for our guests and there is no way for us to guarantee what type of card they will have. I have also checked the box for non-aironet support with no luck. Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated.

Hi!

Your problem is probably that you have only 802.11a integrated antenna (5GHz band). You have to buy aditional 802.11b/g antenna (with RP-TNC connectors) for 2.4GHz band. That is the reason that you have 802.11b connection only near AP (you do not have anntenna).

I hope this will solve your problems,

Srdja