Helpful
Replies

Cisco Catalyst 9800-40 Wireless Controller

lachimip
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am new to Cisco WLC.

I have Cisco Catalyst 9800-40 Wireless Controller and it is running on software version 17.3.4c.

I am told to upgrade to the latest one and I have no idea which is the latest one with no bug in it. I tried to download the software from website, but I saw many different types and I am bit worried that I may use the wrong one. I am attaching here the to show which made me more confused. Can anyone tell me which is the latest and bug-free firmware for my controller( Cisco Catalyst 9800-40 Wireless Controller) and send me a link to download it. I can only upgrade it from GUI if you would like to show me some steps as well.

lachimip_0-1712896273972.png

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

@marce1000 wrote:
the wireless must always be there  , also at night (e.g.)

That is highly debateable and subjective.  Most 9-5 business do not want to implement nightly reboot because they do not know how to automate this.  And most "24-hour" business do not know when they can have a 6 minute WiFi outage.  

Option B:  Do not use 17.9.4/17.9.4a or 17.9.5. 

Option C:  Do nothing and tolerate a rolling outage when the bugs (plural term) kick in.

View solution in original post

24 Replies 24

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Avoid 17.9.4/17.9.4a and/or 17.9.5 for now.  

We are seeing a lot "interesting" bugs.

Which one is to download now? I can see IOS XE software, IOS XE ROMAN software and many more. Under them there I can see the version. Can you recommend the good one.

If the WLC is operating normally, do not upgrade unless it is critically and absolutely necessary.

Because once you will start hitting bug after bug after consecutive bug ... you will have no more hairs to pull.

>...If the WLC is operating normally, do not upgrade unless it is critically and absolutely necessary.
 @Leo Laohoo Note that 17.3.x is EOL , 

M.