Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Prime - Viewing 5 Ghz Rx Neighbors in Maps

stelker77
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I'm a complete newbie with Cisco Prime. One of the customers I work with has it and I'm trying to help implement some wireless changes. I have imported two maps and placed the AP's on the maps at Main Menu > Maps > Site Maps (New!) > Building > Main Building > Floor 1. When I click on a specific AP, I can only see the Rx RSSI level values in the 2.4 Ghz spectrum on the map itself. I have it set to 5 GHz at the top (where the choices are 5 GHz, 2.4 GHz or 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz), and toggling back and forth through the different options changes nothing--the values don't change. Interestingly, the heat map graphics do change, but not the values (e.g. -37 dBm, -55 dBm, etc.).

If I click on an AP, then browse through the two tabs on the right-hand side (showing 802.11b/g/n stats and 802.11a/n/ac stats), I can see the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz Rx Neighbors, and verify that the 2.4 GHz Rx Neighbors RSSI values are what is displaying on the map, rather than the 5 GHz. It's nice to see this info in a column for 5 GHz, but if I could visualize it on the map in the same way the 2.4 GHz is showing, that would be perfect. Any thoughts? It almost seems like a bug. Software version for Cisco Prime is 3.2.0.0.258 according to Gear at top right > About Prime Infrastructure.

In case I'm off base and need to be redirected in my thinking--I am taking the Rx Neighbors RSSI values to mean "the signal strength at which I can hear my neighbors, from the perspective of the AP I have selected."

I have tried Chrome, Firefox and IE.

Am I just clicking wrong somewhere? Thanks for any and all help and advice.

Cheers,

Cameron

3 Replies 3

Hi Cameron,

Pls have a look at those display label options and see any of those helps to achieve what you need (ex set it to Channel & Power Level)

PI-DisplayLabel.PNG

Rasika

*** Pls rate all useful responses ***

Hi Rasika,