cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Flexconnect newbie question about connected/unconnected....

sossie
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I'm new to Cisco wireless and have a question about Flexconnect.

Is it possible to configure Cisco AP's so that when the controller is reachable they centrally auth, and switch traffic (at the controller) and only when the controller is un-reachable they go to locally switched?

I have been testing and from what I can tell its a either - or option. When I turn on locally switched, that is what the AP does even if it can see the controller.

The reason I would like this "best of both worlds" is because I understand debug/troubleshooting/visability is easier when traffic is centrally switched (I've had to debug client roaming in the past and I couldn't get much info on locally switched AP's). But I would like to know that if the controller/wan is down AP's can go to local auth/switch.

Cheers Simon

7 Replies 7

ali aqrabawi
Level 3
Level 3

first of all you welcome to wireless world :) . 

here is the scnarios of the APs mode :

1)local mode APs : are always switching traffic locally , even if the WLAN is configured as flexconnect local switching , if the WAN link between WLC and local AP go down the AP will not authenticate new clients , and it will disassoicate already connected clients , it will actually reboot and it's radios will go down . 

2)flexconnect APs: flexconnect APs have multiple scenarios :

+if the WLAN is configured as centar switching and central auth :

the AP will always authenticate and switch the traffic centrally on the WLC , but when the WAN is down the AP keeps the connected client and start switching their traffic locally and authenticate new clients locally as well .

+if the WLAN is configured localy switching local auth :

AP will always localy authenticate and switch the client traffic weather the WLC is reachable or not ,